Courtesy of The Weinstein Company

Greig Fraser’s lensing of Garth Davis’ Lion won the feature competition at the American Society of Cinematographers’ 31st annual Outstanding Achievement Awards, Saturday night at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

He topped a field of nominees that included James Laxton, for Moonlight; Linus Sandgren, for La La Land; Rodrigo Prieto, for Silence; and Bradford Young, for Arrival. Lion, an adaptation of the nonfiction book A Long Way Home, was Davis’ first feature; earlier this evening, he received the DGA Award for a first-time feature director. Lion was photographed on location in India and Australia.

The same five movies are nominated for the Oscar in cinematography. In six of the last 10 years, the winner of the ASC Award in the feature category went on to win the Academy Award in cinematography.

ASC TV category winners included Fabian Wagner for Game of Thrones, Tod Campbell for Mr. Robot and Igor Martinovic for The Night Of. The spotlight award for cinematography in feature-length projects that are screened at festivals, internationally or in limited theatrical release, was presented to Gorka Gomez Andreu for House of Others.

During the ceremony, Nancy Schreiber became the first woman to receive the ASC Presidents Award. “It never occurred to me that I couldn’t do this job because of my gender,” she said. “Why in the world would the job of being a cinematographer be available only to people of a certain gender, race, religion or sexual orientation? Or age? We all have eyes, hearts, minds and souls. And we all need to fight for the right to express our individuality, passion and creativity in the film and television industry. … I would like to accept this award in the spirit of inspiring more women, and all people who have been excluded from doing what they love, to know that their view of the world is important.”

Two-time Oscar nominee Ed Lachman (Carol, Far From Heaven) was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award by director Todd Haynes. Denzel Washington received the Board of Governors Award; Ron Garcia (Rizzoli and Isles), was given the Career Achievement in Television Award; and Academy Award winner Philippe Rousselot (A River Runs Through It), accepted the International Award.

Honorary Bud Stone Awards were presented to JL Fisher’s Frank Kay and former Kodak exec Bruce Berke,

The complete list of winners follows.

Source link